Valor Awards 2016 Honorees

Tickets for the Valor Awards can be purchased online at:

Valor Awards Personal Fundraising Page

You can help honor one of our honorees while raising funds for the Burn Center by creating your own Everyday Hero fundraising page. Through this site, you can ask friends and family to support The Burn Center with a donation in recognition of an honoree or for the entire team or department. Log on today at, sign up and start sharing on any of your social media platforms. Anyone can create a page. All donations support Valor Awards and the Burn Center at Saint Barnabas. We thank you in advance for sharing with your friends and family.

Humanitarian Community Service Award

J. Michael Roberts

Chief, Millburn Fire Department

Michael Roberts, Chief of the Millburn Fire Department, continues to serve The Burn Center at Saint Barnabas since its inception in 1977. Chief Roberts is the Founder and Chairman of Aluminum Cans for Burned Children (ACBC), an important fundraising program for The Burn Center. Proceeds from ACBC support families whose lives are disrupted by a fire; the hospital’s Fire Safety House Program; fire-prevention education; and burn camp scholarships for children, where Mike is also a counsellor. A dedicated and selfless volunteer, every year, Chief Roberts distributes holiday gifts to children admitted to The Burn Center. He serves on fundraising committees including Cooked and Uncorked, and is a valued member of Saint Barnabas’ Burn Advisory Board. Chief Roberts began his career with the Millburn Fire Department in 1981, attaining the rank of Captain in 1990, Battalion Chief in 1998, and Chief in 2003. He is a certified Emergency Manager, Fire Official for the Department of Community Affairs, and Assessment Center Examiner. A lifetime member of New Jersey Firemen’s Mutual Benevolent Association, where he served as chairman and trustee on the FMBA Board of Directors, Chief Roberts has held numerous local and state-wide positions. Mike and his wife Maryellen are proud parents of three wonderful children. We thank Chief Roberts for his commitment to Saint Barnabas Medical Center and the safety of others, and salute his bravery and heroism.

Valor Awards

North Hudson Regional Fire Department

Captain Peter M. Ellerbrock

Firefighter Steve Alvarez

Firefighter Richard J. Gora

Firefighter Brian T. McCann

Paterson Fire Department

Deputy Chief Brian J. McDermott

Battalion Chief Brian Rathbone

Firefighter Wesley Mann

Rahway Fire Department

Captain Theodore Padavano

Firefighter Andrew Shumway

Team Effort – Fire

Elizabeth Fire Department

Deputy Chief Lathey Wirkus

Acting Battalion Chief C. Richard Mooney

Acting Captain Steven Campbell

Acting Captain Mark Gray

Captain John Kuhn

Captain Michael McConlogue

Captain William Vignalli

Firefighter Oscar Barreto

Firefighter Steven Gaglliano

Firefighter Jeffrey Gallicchio

Firefighter Christopher Inzano

Firefighter Dean Melachrinos

Firefighter Edward Silva

Firefighter Edward Sisk IV

Firefighter John Zapata

Jersey City Fire Department

Captain John Johnson

Firefighter John Amato

Firefighter Raymond Gracia

North Hudson Regional Fire Department

Captain Glen Gavin

Captain Sean Miick

Captain Moises Valdes

Firefighter Vito Gigante

Firefighter Matthew Huelbig

Passaic Fire Department

Captain Luis Mercado

Firefighter Shawn Bellamy

Firefighter Lenin Gomez

Firefighter Rene Rivera

Perth Amboy Fire Department

Chief Abraham Pitre

Firefighter Javier Cruz

Firefighter John DeNardo

Firefighter Thomas Macri

Team Effort – Non-Fire

Hillside Fire Department

Deputy Chief William Pellettiere

Captain Michael Hanlein

Captain Keith Ryan

Firefighter Jerard Bananzio

Firefighter Shelton Gibbs

Firefighter Michael Gwizdz

Firefighter Richard Hesse

Firefighter Michael Kelly

Firefighter Felipe Sousa

Firefighter Edward Trela

Firefighter Jarnel Williams

Millburn Fire Department

Captain Christopher Beady

Firefighter Edgar Echavarria

Firefighter Joseph Infantini

Perth Amboy Fire Department

Battalion Chief Sammy Arroyo

Captain Ray Estrada

Firefighter Javier Cruz

Firefighter John DeNardo

Firefighter Kenneth Febles

Firefighter Derek Kraese

Firefighter Philip Sulikowski

Firefighter Robert Wisneski


Hillside Fire Department

Firefighter / EMT Michael Kelly

Firefighter / EMT Jarnel Williams


Clifton Fire Department

Lieutenant Travis McAuley

Firefighter Brian Kieferle

Special Recognition

East Orange Fire Department

Captain Anthony Hale

Captain William Kingston

Captain Andre Williams

Firefighter Tariq Bond

Firefighter Marc Jackson

Firefighter Damon T. Johns

Firefighter Damon Pitts

Firefighter Terrence E. Thornton

Firefighter Wade Williams

Jersey City Fire Department

Captain Tom Rucci

Firefighter Joseph Dagato

Jersey City Fire Department

Battalion Chief Paul J. Drennan

Captain Nick Degnan

Captain Mark S. Fallon

Captain Anthony Klocko

Captain Vic Petrucelli

Acting Captain Joseph Shastay

Firefighter Jeffrey Batt

Firefighter George Conroy

Firefighter Ronnie Cutler

Firefighter Matthew Finnerty

Firefighter John Galvin

Firefighter Anthony Manchisi

Firefighter Josue Medina

Firefighter Joseph Murphy

Firefighter Patrick Murphy

Firefighter Kevin Phillips

Firefighter Jeffrey Piorkowski

Firefighter Patrick Preciose

Firefighter Richard Siero

Firefighter Dwayne Taylor

Firefighter Vincent Torre

Firefighter Bryan Tullock

Union Fire Department

Battalion Chief Michael Scanio

Battalion Chief Timothy Wirkus

Captain Thomas Gourlay

Captain John Lonergan

Captain Gregory B. Ricciardi

Captain Gary Steitz, Sr.

Lieutenant Chris Markovich

Lieutenant Christopher Steitz

Firefighter Kenneth DeHart

Firefighter Daniel Donza

Firefighter Orlando Guzman

Firefighter Matthew Howard

Firefighter Christopher Jimenez

Firefighter Christopher Kaminski

Firefighter Shawn McGee

Firefighter Daniel Misukonis

Firefighter Ferdinandi Pagano

Firefighter Aldo Procak

Firefighter Travis Puchinsky

Firefighter Alfoso Rey

Firefighter Daniel Roman